Category Archives: Uncategorized

March 2019 AAA Newsletter

Educator Opportunities & Resources:

Indigenous Peoples Atlas of Canada Giant Floor Map 

Giant Floor Map

Giant Floor Map Training and Orientation March 20, 2019 Contact Rina Whitford for details: rwhitford@wsd1.org

AFN It’s Our Time Toolkit

Tablet

Click the image above for a link for the “It’s Our Time Toolkit”, a local Manitoba resource for integrating Indigenous Perspectives across the curriculum.  This resource is available on iTunes and Google Play.  For the Teacher resource guide, click here!

Truth & Reconciliation at St. John’s High School

http://www.facebook.com/georgia.wells.923/videos/10158302173544937/

Image may contain: 2 people, text

Nativeland.ca

Native Land Digital is a Canadian not-for-profit organization, incorporated in December 2018. It is designed to be Indigenous-led, with an Indigenous Board of Directors who oversee and direct the organization. Numerous non-Indigenous people also contribute by being on our Advisory Council.

Circles for Reconciliation

Indigenous Arts & Stories

The largest and most recognized art & creative writing competition in Canada for Indigenous youth.  Help your students enter the largest and most recognized art & creative writing competition in Canada for Indigenous youth.

Remember Shannen’s Dream? 

Indigenous Ingenuity:

Telling the Story of first contact…with a futuristic video game

Click the image above for the CBC article – March 10,2019

Indigenous Language:

Doris Pratt, Sioux Valley elder who spent decades preserving Dakota language, dies at 83 

Click the image above for the CBC article – March 9,2019

Indigenous Life:

Skywoman: A Story Before Time

Skywoman: A Story Before Time

Click the Image for one teaching of a unique Creation Story

A Mohawk Creation Story

January/February 2019 AAA Newsletter

INDIGENOUS INSIGHTS:

‘There’s no quick fix’: Advice for teachers struggling to properly integrate Indigenous content into classes

An article on the struggles educators face integrating Indigenous Perspectives.

Justice Murray Sinclair:  On Education

Firemakers

“Firemakers” is a music video created by the Anishnaabe youth of Lac La Croix First Nation in Ontario.This is a call out song that describes the current state of reservations and the changes that the youth wish to see! The song is exploding in the digital world, come and see why!

Wet’suwet’en & Unist’ot’en Camp

INDIGENOUS LIFE:

HUMAN RIGHTS:

Family stuck in condemned home warmed only by oven, space heaters, Sandy Bay First Nation woman says

OPPORTUNITIES FOR EDUCATORS:

Family time, pride and the sound of the drum: University of Winnipeg Pow Wow Program, every Tuesday

Winnipeg Public Library – Indigenous Services

  • The library provides a variety of FREE programming, click the calendar for upcoming events, workshops, and programs.  The library is currently offering Cree Language Classes (see poster below)

RESOURCES FOR EDUCATORS:

“Unreserved”: Tuesday Teachings

Every other Tuesday, Unreserved features a two-minute video, sharing the wisdom and knowledge of Indigenous elders and knowledge keepers throughout Canada.  Follow “Unreserved” on facebook here.  Here is a sample 2 minute teaching:

Indigenous Ally Toolkit aims to fill knowledge gap says developer

For a link to the toolkit, click the image below.  Note:  This resource is developed in Montreal, thus reflects the terminology used in that locale.  For questions regarding implementing this in the MB Context, feel free to contact Rina Whitford, Program Lead.

Historica Canada: Indigenous Perspectives Guide

This guide is designed to align with current Canadian curricula, and has been produced for use in middle and high school history and social science classrooms. The guide is therefore not comprehensive in its coverage, focusing primarily on the history that is taught in classrooms. Teachers may wish to address topics not covered in this guide to provide a more complete understanding of Indigenous worldviews.

Download the guide, timeline, and worksheets below, or view them online at
http://fb.historicacanada.ca/education/english/indigenous-perspectives/.

Ensouling Our Schools

Ensouling_web

In an educational milieu in which standards and accountability hold sway, schools can become places of stress, marginalization, and isolation instead of learning communities that nurture a sense of meaning and purpose. In Ensouling Our Schools, author Jennifer Katz weaves together methods of creating schools that engender mental, spiritual, and emotional health while developing intellectual thought and critical analysis.

Kevin Lamoureux contributes his expertise to this book regarding Indigenous approaches to mental and spiritual health that benefit all students and address the TRC Calls to Action.

Ensouling Our Schools is one book in the Teaching to Diversity series.

WSD Indigenous Education Supports

Role Name Email
Director of Aboriginal Education and Newcomer Services Rob Riel rriel@wsd1.org
Elder/Knowledge Keeper Myra Laramee mlaramee@wsd1.org
Program Lead Rina Whitford rwhitford@wsd1.org
Program Support Keith Bousquet kbousquet@wsd1.org
Program Support Misty Perrun mperrun@wsd1.org
Program Support Crystal Millar-Courchene cmillar@wsd1.org
Aboriginal Graduation Coach (Grant Park) Lindsey Trudeau ltrudeau@wsd1.org
Aboriginal Graduation Coach (Children of the Earth) Michelle Gougeon mgougeon@wsd1.org
Aboriginal Graduation Coach (St. John’s) Stephanie Midford smidford@wsd1.org
Aboriginal Graduation Coach (Tec Voc) Elyse Vezina evezina@wsd1.org
Literacy Intervention Support Teacher (Pinkham) Janice Caplan jcaplan@wsd1.org
Literacy Intervention Support Teacher (Niji Mahkwa) Leanne Chernetz lchernetz@wsd1.org
Literacy Intervention Support Teacher (Shaughnessy Park) Tammy Stevenson tfissel@wsd1.org
Literacy Intervention Support Teacher (Dufferin) Moira Bauer mbauer@wsd1.org
Literacy Intervention Support Teacher (William Whyte) Lisa Titley ltitley@wsd1.org

The Winnipeg School Division strives to infuse Indigenous perspectives into the curriculum through building capacity and empowering schools in their learning journey to promote Indigenous education that is appropriate, applicable, and sustainable.  All educators work together to further student achievement in literacy and numeracy.  If you require specific supports in regards to Indigenous education please contact Rina Whitford, Program Lead.