Category Archives: WSD AAA

WSD Bilingual Program

The WSD Bilingual Program offers instruction in both Cree and Ojibwe language.  Our programs are located at Isaac Brock School and currently run from grades K-1 for the 2017-2018 year, and will run from grades K-2 for the 2018-2019 school year.  For more information and registration contact Isaac Brock school or one of the Aboriginal Education Consultants.

Link to Bilingual program information – https://www.winnipegsd.ca/schools/IsaacBrock/AcademicsAndClasses/creeojibwe/Pages/Default.aspx

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/manitoba/winnipeg-school-makes-history-1.3743804

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/manitoba/wsd-cree-ojibwa-bilingual-open-house-1.3421483

Special Language Exams – High School Credit

Special Language Exams are hosted by Winnipeg School Division 2 times a year.  WSD can provide tutors to prepare students to challenge exams in Ojibwe, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dene, and Michif.  Students may earn up  to 4 special language credits towards graduation.  If you are aware of students that would like to challenge the exam, please contact the Aboriginal Education Consultants.  The next examination dates are in April 2018, students must register early, stay tuned for more information and registration forms.

Link to MB Ed Special Language Website – http://www.edu.gov.mb.ca/k12/cur/languages/langcredit.html

Winnipeg School Division Language Classes

WSD will offer 2 sessions of Cree and Ojibwe language classes for staff, students, and community members.  Watch for informational posters, and emails to register on employee connect or email Rina Bright at rbright@wsd1.org

Winter 2018 Session:

6 Weeks – February 8, 15, 22, March 1, 8, 15

Time: 5:00-7:00

Location: St. John’s High School

Instructors:  Alma Bernier & TBA

Spring 2018 Session:

6 Weeks – April 26, May 3, 10, 17, 24, 31

Time: 5:00 – 7:00

Location: TBA

Instructors: Alma Bernier & TBA

WSD Aboriginal Education Team

Role Name Email
Director of Aboriginal Education and Newcomer Services Rob Riel rriel@wsd1.org
Elder/Knowledge Keeper Myra Laramee mlaramee@wsd1.org
Aboriginal Education Consultant/Support Teacher Bobbie-Jo Leclair boleclair@wsd1.org
Aboriginal Education Consultant/Support Teacher Rina Bright rbright@wsd1.org
Cree Language Support Teacher Rudy Okemaw rokemaw@wsd1.org
Indigenous Programming Support Teacher Rachelle Carlisle rcarlisle@wsd1.org
Indigenous Programming Support Teacher Charisse Cyr chcyr@wsd1.org
Indigenous Programming Support Teacher Misty Perrun mperrun@wsd1.org
Indigenous Programming Support Teacher Keith Bousquet kbousquet@wsd1.org
Aboriginal Graduation Coach (Grant Park) Lindsey Trudeau ltrudeau@wsd1.org
Aboriginal Graduation Coach (Children of the Earth) Shirley Delorme Russell sdelormerussell@wsd1.org
Aboriginal Graduation Coach (St. John’s) Stephanie Midford smidford@wsd1.org
Aboriginal Graduation Coach (Tec Voc) Georgia Wells gwells@wsd1.org
Literacy Intervention Support Teacher (Pinkham) Janice Caplan jcaplan@wsd1.org
Literacy Intervention Support Teacher (Niji Mahkwa) Leanne Chernetz lchernetz@wsd1.org
Literacy Intervention Support Teacher (Shaughnessy Park) Tammy Fissel tfissel@wsd1.org
Literacy Intervention Support Teacher (William Whyte) Lisa Titley ltitley@wsd1.org
Literacy Intervention Support Teacher (Weston) Neil Kumka nkumka@wsd1.org
ESD Consultant Chantelle Cotton ccotton@wsd1.org
Newcomer Service Coordinator Sue Hoang shoang@wsd1.org

The Winnipeg School Division Aboriginal Education Team offers supports to implement Indigenous perspectives into the curriculum through building capacity and empowering school staff in their learning journey to promote Indigenous education that is appropriate, applicable, and sustainable.  If you would like school wide supports, please contact our Aboriginal Education Consultants.  For individual/small group support please contact your respective Indigenous Programming Support Teacher assigned to your school.

 

Consultant School Assignments:

Bobbie-Jo Leclair Rina Bright
Andrew Mynarski Argyle
Churchill DMCI
College Churchill General Wolfe
Elmwood Gordon Bell
Grant Park RB Russell
Hugh John Macdonald St. John’s
Sisler Tec Voc
Kelvin Isaac Newton
WAEC

Indigenous Programming Support Teacher School Assignments:

Charisse Cyr Rachelle Carlisle Keith Bousquet Misty Perrun
Brock Corydon Faraday Cecil Rhodes Clifton
Champlain Fort Rouge David Livingstone Glenelm
Carpathia Garden Grove Earl Grey Greenway
Dufferin Gladstone George V J.B. Mitchell
Grosvenor Inkster Isaac Brock Kent Road
Harrow John M. King Lansdowne Lord Roberts
Lord Nelson King Edward Meadows West Lord Selkirk
Montrose Laura Secord Niji Mahkwa Pinkham
Mulvey LaVerendrye Ralph Brown Principal Sparling
Norquay Sir William Osler River Heights River Elm
Prairie Rose Luxton Sargent Park Robert H. Smith
Queenston Machray Shaughnessy Park Sacre-Coeur
Robertson Riverview Stanley Knowles Strathcona
Rockwood Sister MacNamara William Whyte Victoria-Albert
Tyndall Park Wellington Weston
Wolesley

What’s Happening in WSD that supports AAA…

There are a wide variety of programs, initiatives, and activities happening throughout the division that support Aboriginal Academic Achievement.  Some of the various initiatives include, but are not limited to…

School-based Indigenous Education Committees

Aboriginal Youth Leadership Program

Student-led groups

Sharing of Indigenous learning resources

Land-based Education

Cree and Ojibwe Language Programs (Bilingual Program, Language Classes)

Professional development opportunities for staff (Blanket Exercise, Circle in the Box, Treaty Education)

– Treaty Land Acknowledgement

– Orange Shirt Day

– Indigenous celebrations – Culture days, Pow Wows and/or Pow Wow Clubs

– Guest Speakers

– Storytelling

– Indigenous Perspectives through cross curricular areas

– Cultural Teachings: 7 Teachings, smudging, medicine wheel teachings, tipi teachings

– Grandmother Groups

– Parent Involvement

– Community Support Workers

– Aboriginal Education Team support