learners today, leaders tomorrow!

be a learner, be a leader, be kind!

WSD Healthy Minds Week

on May 1, 2016

WSD Health Minds Web

WSD HEALTHY MINDS WEEK – 2016
WSD Events

Monday, May 2

11:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
Healthy Minds Gallery Walk – celebration of all the mental health initiatives and programming happening in WSD schools
Location: Prince Charles ERC
Contact: Cherie Waterman at cwaterman@wsd1.org
Questions contact: Jón Olafson at jolafson@wsd1.org
4:30 – 5:30 p.m.
“Lighten Your Load” – A Mental Health Strategy for All Staff
Location: Prince Charles ERC
Register on Employee Connect
Questions contact: Heather Closen at hclosen@wsd1.org

Tuesday, May 3

12:00 – 1:00 p.m.
MTS Wellness Activity – Yoga for All Staff
Location: Prince Charles ERC
Register on Employee Connect
Questions contact: Jill Heater at jheater@wsd1.org
3:30 – 5:30 p.m.
Tree of Life – A WSD Parent (Guardian)/Child Workshop
Location: Cecil Rhodes School
Contact: Jennifer Curtis at
jcurtis@wsd1.org

4:30 – 5:30 p.m.
Staff Wellness Activity – Mindfulness for All Staff
Location: Prince Charles ERC
Register on Employee Connect
Questions contact: Jón Olafson at jolafson@wsd1.org

Wednesday, May 4

3:30 – 5:30 p.m.
Tree of Life – A WSD Parent (Guardian)/Child Workshop
Location: King Edward School
Contact: Jennifer Curtis at jcurtis@wsd1.org
7:00 – 9:00 p.m.
Charlie Appelstein “Helping Your Kids to Be All That They Can Be: Using a Positive, Strength-Based Approach for Effective Parenting” – Parent (Guardian) Evening
Location: St. John’s High School
Contact: Sharon Taylor at shtaylor@wsd1.org

Thursday, May 5

9:00 a.m. – 3:30 p.m.
“No such thing as a bad kid: Understanding and Responding to Challenging Behaviour in the Classroom” with Charlie Appelstein – WSD PD for All Staff
Location: MTS Harcourt Building
Contact: Sharon Taylor at shtaylor@wsd1.org
6:30 – 8:20 p.m.
Learning Together conference – A Parent (Guardian)/Child ages 4-12 event
Location: Dufferin School
Contact: Karen Naumiuk at (204) 774-3409 ext 548

Friday, May 6

1:30 p.m.
Healthy Minds Moment – all schools and departments will be encouraged to arrange a brief school/department-wide mental health enhancing moment (mindfulness moment, school walk, assembly, healthy snack break, student council event, poster display, intercom announcement, stretch break)


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Skip to toolbar